Newbie question

I am very new to model driven development and currently looking at xtext and of course MPS. I have two beginner questions for MPS.

1)
Is it possible to create a language in MPS that extends Java. Export it as an IntelliJ plugin that will work in the Java editor of IntelliJ? Or is it restricted to the MPS model editor?

2)
If number 1 is doable, is it possible to export a complete plugin and not have the users need to install all the MPS plugins as well?

Thanks in advance,
Anders
  1. 1 - yes, you can extend Java, but within IntelliJ you have to use the MPS editor. This isn't so bad, because the projectional editor is very good. The main restriction I've found in doing this is that sometimes it's harder to integrate your MPS language with other parts of IntelliJ, for example I haven't been able to get it working with Maven-based projects.

2. 2 - N/A, since you have to use the MPS plugins, mainly for the projectional editor. This will be the same with Eclipse when they add support for it later this year.

I've used both Xtext and MPS quite a bit, so if you have further questions I would be glad to help. You can post here or drop me a line at txmikester at gmail dot com.

A few general observations/comparisons between the two (these are just my opinions based on moderate-heavy usage of each, others may not agree):

1) MPS has a lot more capabilities overall. Many of the language extension mechanisms available for MPS are just not possible with Xtext.

2) On the surface, MPS seems to have a higher learning curve. I'm not completely convinced that's the case, however. Granted, Xtext makes it pretty easy to get up and running with simple languages, probably easier than MPS. But to do substantial work, I found Xtext required as much learning of the intricacies as MPS did.